Ermer & Suter, PLLC (E&S) is a Washington, DC law firm whose practice focuses on federal employment and benefits matters, and specifically on representing and counseling Federal Employees Health Benefits (“FEHB”) plans in a variety of areas.  In addition to our legal work for individual plans and a trade association of FEHB plans, in the year 2000, the subrogation arm of our firm, Third Party Recovery Services (TPRS) expanded our services in the area of subrogation and reimbursement program management.  

TPRS handles third party recoveries for several Federal Employees Health Benefits Plans (FEHBP), including the Mail Handlers Benefit Plan (MHBP), the Special Agents Mutual Benefit Association (SAMBA) Health Benefit Plan, the Foreign Service Benefit Plan (FSBP) and the Rural Carrier Benefit Plan (RCBP).

As part of their FEHBP contracts with the U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM), these Plans are required to initiate reimbursement efforts for benefits issued as a result of any accident, illness or injury when one of their members receives compensation from a third party as a result of the incident (i.e., auto accident, workers’ compensation, medical malpractice, product liability, etc.).


Our Mission

E&S Third Party Recovery Services (TPRS) provides subrogation and reimbursement services to Federal Employees Health Benefit (FEHB) plan carriers, underwriters, and administrators.

E&S TPRS is, and remains committed to being, a leader in FEHB subrogation and reimbursement practices. As a leader, E&S TPRS seeks out innovations and improvements in those practices and is willing to share them with other companies.

E&S TPRS is, and remains committed to being, an extension of the customer service operations of its FEHB plan customers. E&S TPRS is committed to treating FEHB plan members in an understanding and respectful manner.

E&S TPRS is, and remains committed, to providing its employees with fair compensation, a collegial work environment and the appropriate technology.


Our Clients

We proudly serve the Mail Handlers Benefit Plan (MHBP), the Special Agents Mutual Benefit Association (SAMBA) Health Benefit Plan, the Foreign Service Benefit Plan (FSBP) and the Rural Carrier Benefit Plan (RCBP).


Our Team

TPRS Analysts

Marissa McTernan 

Marissa McTernan

202-380-9171

mmcternan@estprs.com 

Enrollee’s last name begins with L-Q

Shedaun Smith 

Shedaun Smith

202-627-3103

ssmith@estprs.com

Enrollee’s last name begins with R-Z

Yolanda Sims

202-627-3105

ysims@estprs.com

Enrollee’s last name begins with A-D

Stephen Lamm

Stephen Lamm

202-627-3107

slamm@estprs.com

Enrollee’s last name begins with E-K

Ruth King Cottrell 

Ruth King Cottrell

202-627-3106

rking@estprs.com

Federal  Workers’ Compensation 

Other Contacts

Kathryn Peterson 

Kathryn Peterson

202-627-3104

kpeterson@estprs.com

Subrogation Manager 

Nick Sayers, Esq. 

Image coming soon!

202-627-3108

nsayers@estprs.com

Staff Attorney

Jason Suter, Esq. 

Jason Suter, Esq.

202-833-3400

jsuter@estprs.com 

Partner

David Ermer, Esq.

David Ermer, Esq.

202-833-3400

dermer@estprs.com 

Partner